Monday, November 14, 2011

Rookies of the Year

Congratulations to Jeremy Hellickson and Craig Kimbrel, this year's AL and NL Rookies of the Year, respectively.

Just a few tidbits about Braves players and ROY voting:

~Kimbrel became the fifth Atlanta Brave to win the ROY. Past winners include: Rafael Furcal (2000), David Justice (1990), Bob Horner (1978), and Earl Williams (1971).

~By finishing 1st and 2nd this year, Kimbrel and Freddie Freeman became only the second teammates to finish 1-2 in the voting. The others? Remember Jerome Walton and Dwight Smith with the '89 Cubs?

~This is the forth straight year that the Braves have placed someone in the top 3 for NL ROY. The others have been Jair Jurrjens (3rd in 2008), Tommy Hanson (3rd in 2009), Jayson Heyward (2nd in 2010).

With Julio Teheran, Randall Delgado, Arodys Vizcaino still maintaining rookie status for 2012, it will be interesting to see if Atlanta can add any more names to these lists. One darkhorse to consider: shortstop Tyler Pastornicky, who some Braves player development personnel believe is ready for the majors-according to ESPN's Jim Bowden.

No comments:

Post a Comment